Built in 1709 to house a charity school, The Blewcoat is believed to have been designed by Sir Christopher Wren. It is a Listed Grade 1 building; a British treasure that stands apart as the only period building in the vicinity. Its name derives from the distinctive uniforms worn by former pupils. A statue of a Blewcoat boy still stands above the doorway. It could not be a more perfect setting to showcase the collections of an iconic British fashion designer. The school closed in 1926 and was acquired by the National Trust in 1954 which used it as offices and as a gift shop. In 2013, Ian Stuart was granted permission to refurbish the interior to house his bridal and special occasion wear collections.
The Blewcoat store was opened in June 2014 by celebrated fashion designer David Sassoon.